Shonto Sub-Committees

Thank you for visiting the Shonto Community Gonvernance websiteShonto is a Navajo word that translates to "sunshine springs" and is known for it's natural spring water that flows through its canyon. Located in the heart of the Navajo Indian Reservation, Shonto as rural as it is rich in Navajo Culture.

Many new and exciting projects are being identified by Shonto leaders and volunteers. An Action Plan has been developed as we continue to add new projects outside the parameters of the four priorities listed on our Governance page.

We are proud to present our community members, feel free to scroll and view our current community leaders.

Planning & Zoning Commission

Chuck Howe - Chair
Norma Cruz - Vice Chair
Freida Laughter - Secretary
Bobby Cooley - Member
James Begishe - Member
Stanley Yazzie - SCG Representative

Shonto Tourism Group Members

Board Members: Althea James, Sandra Black, Vern Hongeva, Curlinda M. Blacksheep, Andrew Wilson, Robert K. Black, Jr., Wynn Bronston, Elizabeth Whitethorne-Benally, Felix Fuller, Roland Smallcanyon, Baje Whitethorne, Sr., Randall Black, Dawn Melvin

Shonto Economic Development Committee

  • Chair - Arlene Edd

  • Members: Vern Hongeva

Business Management Commission

  • Chair - Sandra Black

  • Members: Ronald James, Althea James, Jones Grass, Geneva Begishie

Contact Shonto Community

Internet Marketing byOptima

Website Design and Internet Marketing byOptima